top of page

in association with BBC Radio 3 and The Tallis Scholars

The winning pieces of the 2020 NCEM Young Composers Award are Come Passing Rain by Fintan O’Hare (19 to 25 years) and As if there were no such cold thing by Eilidh Owen (18 years and under).

The winning works were recorded by The Tallis Scholars at Cadogan Hall, London for broadcast on BBC Radio 3's Early Music Show on Sunday 13th June at 2.00pm.
The 2020 NCEM Young Composers Award was presented by the NCEM and BBC Radio 3 in partnership with the internationally acclaimed vocal ensemble The Tallis Scholars, directed by Peter Phillips.

Exciting times for winners of the 2020 NCEM Young Composers Award, Fintan O’Hare (19 to 25 years) and Eilidh Owen (18 years and under) who got the chance to go to Cadogan Hall and hear their compositions performed by The Tallis Scholars. As an added bonus they were invited by the director Peter Phillips to conduct the singers through their own pieces. The session was recorded by BBC Radio 3 for broadcast on The Early Music Show on Sunday 13 June at 2pm, presented by Hannah French. Photos by Mark Allan.


19 - 25 YEARS

Noah Vaughn Bray Our Father

Sam Gooderham late-past

Caitlin Harrison The Flower

James Mitchell The Lord's Prayer

Fintan O'Hare Come Passing Rain


Ethan Lieber The Flower

Eilidh Owen As If There Were No Such Cold Thing

Emily Pedersen Pater Noster

The award was judged at the NCEM on Wednesday 11 November when the shortlist of entries was performed by Ex Corde ensemble, the consort of the Ebor Singers. The judges were Peter Phillips, Director of The Tallis Scholars; Les Pratt, Producer, BBC Radio 3; Delma Tomlin, Director of the National Centre for Early Music.

Earlier in the day the shortlisted pieces had been rehearsed in a workshop for the young composers led by composer Christopher Fox (Professor of Music, Brunel University). The event was organised in strict compliance with the current guidelines on social-distancing, and the composers joined in by Zoom.

This major national annual award is open to young composers up to the age of 25 and resident in the UK, in two age categories: 18 years and under; and 19 to 25 years.  For the 2020 award, composers were invited to create a new polyphonic work for unaccompanied choir, setting either the Our Father (Pater Noster) prayer from St Matthew's Gospel, or the first and last verses of George Herbert's poem The Flower.

Noah Vaughn Bray Our FatherNoah Vaughn Bray
00:00 / 03:25
Sam Gooderham late-pastSam Gooderham
00:00 / 04:38
Caitlin Harrison The FlowerCaitlin Harrison
00:00 / 03:51
James Mitchell The Lord's PrayerJames Mitchell
00:00 / 04:26
Fintan O'Hare Come Passing RainFintan O'Hare
00:00 / 04:22
Ethan J Lieber The FlowerEthan Lieber
00:00 / 03:30
Eilidh Owen As if there were no such colEilidh Owen
00:00 / 04:02
Emily Pedersen Pater NosterEmily Pedersen
00:00 / 05:31
bottom of page